Erickson’s theory revised

Sample banner

0 / 5. 0

Erickson’s theory revised

Category: Statistics Project

Subcategory: Psychology

Level: College

Pages: 2

Words: 550

Erickson’s Psychosocial Development Stages
Erickson’s psychosocial theory looks closely at the impact of external factors that a person has to go through from childhood to adulthood. According to the theory, every person has eight stages that they must go through over their entire life cycle. These stages are discussed below.
Basic Trust vs. Mistrust. This stage is mostly observed during infancy between 18 months and 2 years. When a baby is very well taken care of by the parents, the baby will grow with a lot of trust, confidence and will also feel very secure. If the care lacks, however, in the baby’s early years, they may develop general mistrust to the world and insecurity (Shaffer, David 43).
Autonomy vs. Shame. This stage occurs when the child is about 18 months to 3 years. A child gets the opportunity to build autonomy and build their self-esteem at this stage. He/she gets the opportunity to learn new skills and also get to know right from wrong. The child that was shown care will believe in himself/herself and will be confident rather than being shy. On the other hand, the child who faced negligence will be defiant, and stubbornness can appear.
Initiative vs. Guilt. This is the stage when the child is between 3 -5 years and is most likely in preschool (Greene, Roberta 96). This is when the child’s curiosity heightens and you find that they will ask lots of questions. They will also try to imitate the adults in one way or the other….

Free Erickson’s theory revised Essay Sample, Download Now

Don’t waste time!

Order Original Essay on the Similar Topic

Get an original paper on the same topic

from $10 per-page